• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Roasted Chicken with Balsamic Vinaigrette

Brrrracccckkkkkkk brrrrracccckkkkk brack cluck cluck…… oops, wait … cough, sputter, ahem… start again …

So we need to find new chicken dishes to try and I came across this Giada recipe in Everyday Italian. I love anything I can start in the morning and forget about until I’m ready to stick it in the oven. Even better when you get to stick it in the oven and ignore it until it’s done. Simple, easy, and good. What more can you ask for?

Still, I need to find a great Mediterranean Diet cookbook to get me started! Any suggestions would be welcome!

  • 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 T. dijon mustard
  • 2 T. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 chicken cut into 8 pieces
  • 1/2 c. chicken broth
  • parsley
  • lemon zest

NOTE: I used all thighs.

Whisk the vinegar, mustard, lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper in small bowl to blend. Combine the vinaigrette and chicken pieces in a large resealable plastic bag; seal the bag and toss to coat. Refrigerate, turning the chicken pieces occasionally, for at least 2 hours and up to 1 day.

NOTE: Always put the plastic bag in a bowl before you leave it in the fridge. I have had a bag leak – it isn’t pretty!

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Remove chicken from the bag and arrange the chicken pieces on a large baking dish.Roast until the chicken is just cooked through, about 1 hour. If your chicken browns too quickly, cover it with foil for the remaining cooking time. Transfer the chicken to a serving platter.

NOTE: I lined the roasting pan with Reynold’s non-stick foil.

Place the baking dish on a burner over medium-low heat. Whisk the chicken broth into the pan drippings, scraping up any browned bits on the bottom of the baking sheet with a wooden spoon and mixing them into the broth and pan drippings. Drizzle the pan drippings over the chicken. Sprinkle the lemon zest and parsley over the chicken, and serve.

13 Responses

  1. This sounds fantastic– and easy too! Thanks for the great recipe 🙂
    ~Amanda

  2. Great yummy post! Have a great weekend too and see you again soon,

    XOXO Lola:)

  3. Chicken + Vinegar=wonderful!

  4. That looks really good and easy. Yum.

  5. I have Everyday Italian also and I love that cookbook!

    Another great Italian Cookbook is the Silver Spoon….

  6. I love using balsamic vinegar in cooking! What a great flavor it imparts.

  7. I will have to try this one. I’m always looking for a new recipe for chicken thighs. Thank you.

  8. This sounds delicious AND I think I have all the ingredients on hand. We had chicken the last two nights so I may have to wait a day or two so there’s no husband revolt around here.

    These flavors sound like they would be wonderful!

    Thanks for a delicious stop on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “R”.

    A+

    And Yum +, too!

  9. This is such a good recipe! I made it awhile ago though so I’m glad you reminded me about it.

Leave a Reply

