Lemon Parsely Pork Chops

I really can’t eat any more chicken. No more turkey. I must have a revolt or start to find it revolting. I know, turkey and chicken can be used in so many ways and in so many dishes, we shouldn’t know the difference. But I am tired of looking at …. CLUCK! CLUCK! CLUCK!

See! I am turning into some form of poultry! What next coughing up feathers? (Hmmmm, maybe I shouldn’t have eaten that duck last night at The Modern!)

Anyway, the Pork Council is advertising pork as the other white meat. I know, I know, it’s a red meat, but a girl can dream can’t she? And as long as I tow that ‘other white meat’ line, perhaps I can get him to eat it once a week.

This recipe is quick and easy. Pair it with orzo and a salad and you’re ready to go!

  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 T chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1/4 pepper
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 4 bone in loin pork chops (about 8 ozs each)
  • 1/2 C water

Mince the lemon zest and combine in a small bowl with parsley, garlic, salt and pepper. Set aside.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over high heat. Season pork with s&p on both sides. Cook in skillet until browned, about 3 minutes per side.

Add water to skillet, bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low, cover and simmer gently until pork is cooked through, about 8 – 10 minutes.

Transfer pork to platter, drizzle with pan juice and sprinkle with lemon parsley mixture.

NOTE: Nope, no notes. Just YUMMMMMMMM-O!

2 Responses

  1. Tell Tom that as lean as pork is now it definitely counts as white meat (especially if you’re only having it once a week).

    Wait – The Modern?? Do I sense a new post on my other favourite blog coming soon??

    Since I (for now) have to live vicariously through your Restaurant Week reviews until I can get there and (hopefully) participate in one – are we allowed to “request” a review based on drooling over the menus online?

    Love ya – yes I’ll be around more.

  2. We love pork around here and I will be equally happy if it is the “other’ white meat since my husband is allergic to chicken. These look like a great new twist on pork chops!

Leave a Reply

