• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Herb-Crusted Salmon

Now that we need to be on a new heart healthy regimen in our house, we will be eating more fish, especially fish that is rich in Omega 3. This recipe was right up my alley. Simple and quick for a work night supper, healthy for my husband’s heart, and tasty and filling enough for my son.

  • 3 slices white sandwich bread
  • 1 cup fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 4 skinless salmon fillets (6 ounces each)
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil; set aside. In a food processor, combine bread, parsley, and 1 tablespoon oil; season with salt and pepper. Pulse until coarse crumbs form.

NOTE: I have an aversion to white bread. No one in my house eats white bread. It’s not possible to buy three slices of white bread. I could pull a Jack Nicholson from Five Easy Pieces and order a triple decker chicken salad sandwich and have them hold everything but the bread – sadly, people would then think I was insane!  The easier option? I used whole wheat bread. Worked out just fine!

Place salmon on foil lined baking sheet. Season salmon with salt and pepper. Spread top of salmon fillets with Dijon mustard. Top each fillet with crumb mixture, pressing gently to adhere. Roast until salmon is opaque throughout, 11 to 13 minutes.

NOTE: This will definitely be a repeat performer in our house! A little orzo on the side with herbs and lemon, steamed broccoli, and you are all set!

2 Responses

  1. Looks delicious! I make something similar that calls for a Portuguese roll to use for the crumbs…I think the Whole Wheat bread looks just fine!

    You made the dreaded orzo? LOL…I love orzo!

  2. What a yummy sounding way to prepare salmon! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

