• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Chocolate Graham Cracker Toffee Bark

Do you ever just read the name of a recipe and know it was a recipe that just had to be made? For me, this treat was one of these recipes. This has now been put into the folder of recipes I always make for Christmas, and deservedly so!

Very, very simple. Just 5 ingredients. Quick to throw together. Perfect for shipping. And, most importantly, YUMMMMMY!

  • 11 whole honey graham crackers, broken into squares
  • 1 C unsalted butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1/2 C finely chopped pecans
  • 1 to 2 C chocolate chips

NOTE:   I used walnuts. It’s what I already had.

Before you begin, preheat your oven to 350.

Arrange the Graham crackers in a single layer in a 15×10 baking sheet with edges.

NOTE 1: I know putting in the words with edges seems dumb … but just imagine what a disaster it would be to use a baking sheet without edges and making a huge mess of your oven and burning yourself. You really don’t want me to live with that guilt, do you?

NOTE 2: So you have 22 squares. I actually needed more than 22 squares in my pan. Don’t get hung up on this part. You’re breaking it into bark. The squares just make it easier. I had to cut some of the edges to make them all fit flat.

Combine the butter and sugar in a saucepan. Over medium high heat, bring butter and sugar to a boil, stirring constantly until butter melts. Let the mixture boil, unstirred until for 2 minutes.

NOTE: If you prefer a deeper toffee – or more brittle – let the butter and sugar boil a minute or 2 longer. These are crisp, not chewy, but some folks like their toffee deeper in color and flavor.

Remove the saucepan from the heat and stir in the nuts. Pour the mixture over the graham crackers, spreading so toffee is even and all graham crackers are covered.  Bake for 10 minutes.

Remove baking sheet from oven and sprinkle evenly with the chocolate chips. When chips have started to melt, smooth chocolate over the top.

NOTE: I used semi-sweet chips. Dark would be good here too. I may switch it up a bit next year and mix semi-sweet with white chocolate and make a swirl.

Cool in pan for 5 minutes.

NOTE: Now the recipe I found said to lift each square up and place on a wax paper lined baking sheet. There was just NO way this was lifting up one square at a time. Thus, we went from bars to bark. We can’t quibble over one little letter at the end. I am sure it tastes just as good as bark as it would have as bars! But this process was MESSY!

Refrigerate until chocolate hardens.

NOTE: I liked these even better than the similar recipe with saltines. I like the texture and flavor the graham crackers lend to the bark.

NOTE TO SELF: Next year, refrigerate, let the chocolate harden and THEN break into bark! Perhaps parchment paper under the graham crackers would make this whole process easier. Any suggestions?

7 Responses

  1. Every single person at my house would LOVE these. I think we will make them for a nice afternoon mini-project. YUM!

  2. MMMMmmmmmm…this reminds me of Matzo Crack made with Graham Crackers….delish!

  3. I made these for Thanksgiving! Everyone loved them. I omitted the nuts since my family is not huge fans! Still wonderful!!!

  4. I am making this now in two batches, one dark choc with pecans & one milk choc with pecans. I am def refrigerating first, then breaking into bark. Just like saltine version my mom used to make 🙂 I made it on stoneware so hoping mess isn’t issue but def will try parchment next time if it is.

  5. I have made this for a few year. Family requests it every holiday. I line my pan with parchment paper..less mess. I add health bits on top for a little extra

Leave a Reply

