• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Baked Doughnuts

I love doughnuts. They may be one of the world’s most perfect foods. Slightly crisp on the outside, tender on the inside, covered or filled with whatever you like. They can be sweet. They can be savory.  They are portable. Well, they are just delicious.

Not always such an easy process to make at home. There’s usually frying involved.  Too much mess. The Daring Bakers were making doughnuts in October. I have been a very, very lazy Daring Baker as of late. I Googled. The first recipe that caught my eye were Baked Doughnuts from King Arthur Flour. Can you really go wrong with a recipe from King Arthur Flour?

First I needed a doughnut pan. I was going to be right near N.Y. Cake so I thought I would pop in to get a doughnut pan.  They have everything you can imagine at N.Y. Cake. They also have one of the most abrasive human beings on the planet there. I believe he is one of the owners. THey still have everything, but rude doesn’t even begin to describe him. I bought the pan as quickly as possible and quickly arrived home. At this point I was definitely in ‘gotta make the doughnuts’ mode. It was all I could think about!

  • 1 cup Round Table Unbleached Pastry flour or 7/8 cup King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons dried buttermilk powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons water

NOTE: Most supermarkets carry buttermilk powder. It’s right in the baking aisle. If they don’t Amazon is an option. It’s great to have on hand for all sorts of things. If you don’t have buttermilk powder on hand, substitute 2 tablespoons buttermilk or yogurt for the water.  I used all purpose flour. I couldn’t find pastry flour and was really too lazy to mix cake flour and all purpose flour together.

Preheat oven to 375

Whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs, oil and water (or buttermilk or yogurt) until foamy.Pour the liquid ingredients all at once into the dry ingredients and stir just until combined.

Butter or grease the doughnut pan. I used cooking spray. Even though the pans are non-stick, there is very little fat in them, they may stick. 

Fill each doughnut form half full.

Bake the doughnuts for 10 to 12 minutes. When done, they’ll spring back when touched lightly, and will be quite brown on the top.

Remove the doughnuts from the oven, remove from the pan, and cool on rack.

NOTE: I ended up with 10 doughnuts. Either the guy in N.Y. Cake was fibbing about there only being one size [ :-o] or I somehow had magic doughnut batter!

Once cooled, I glazed three doughnuts with a chocolate glaze, three with a plain sugar glaze, and left 4 plain. They were gone by the time I woke up this morning!

6 Responses

  1. You made baked doughnuts wonderful and they delicious well done on this challenge. Cheers from Audax in sydney Australia.

  2. Yummmmm…..gimme one and a nice hot cup of coffee!
    They look wonderful!

  3. Sprinkles!!!! Those look great. Frank @ KAF, baker/blogger.

  4. Mmmmm. Doughnuts. Yours are beautiful. I participated in this challenge, too, but I made the fried ones. They were delicious. I’m addicted. I’ve made them once since, and have lots of plans for future batches. I rationalize it by only making them on the mornings that I have out-of-town guests, and, luckily for the doughnut-making, my family lives far away, and visit often. 🙂

  5. Sounds so delicious and love the idea of baking them instead of frying them. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

