Hello Dollies

Hello Dolly. Well, Hellooooo Dolly.  Maybe not. Maybe you call them Magic Bars. Maybe you call them Dream Bars.  Perhaps Seven Layer Bars. I grew up with them being called Coconut Flatties. My Auntie Grace would make them for us. Every time I make them (or eat them) I think of her. I remember the tin she kept them in. I remember sitting in her kitchen in Stuyvesant Town with a glass of milk thinking these were the nicest tasting things ever.  Back then I couldn’t even fathom that something so special and delicious could be so simple to make.

With as many names as these bars have there are probably twice as many different recipes for them, and all sorts of stories about where they originated. I won’t bore you with all the tales and different recipes and all the different ingredient orders that people use. This is the recipe I use. It was sent to me by my dearest Nanner.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1 1/2 c graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 c chopped walnuts
  • 1 c chocolate chips
  • 1 1/3 c coconut flakes
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk ( 300ml)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt butter in a 9×13 baking pan. Remove from oven. Spread the melted butter evenly over the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs over butter. press slightly into bottom of pan.

Sprinkle the chopped nuts evenly over top.

Then sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top. (Are you seeing how simple this is!?)

And now sprinkle the coconut over the top.

Our the sweetened condensed milk over the top, as evenly as possible. Don’t worry about spreading it over every spot. It will spread on its own.

Put baking dish back into the oven and bake for about 25 minutes. Bake until just lightly browned on top. Let cool completely and cut into squares.

They seemed to have vanished in minutes and more must be made. I wish I could remember why I don’t make these often. That is something that needs to be remedied!

4 Responses

  1. Yummmy…I can NOT have these around me. Too hard to resist…I did not grow up with them , a little late to the party…but they are loved here too!

  2. We grew up calling these Hello Dollys. Also made by my aunt. Interesting, isn’t it? Those aunts were a lot of fun. I do not ever recall making these myself.

  3. My grandmother used to make these! I love them and didn’t exactly know what they were. Thank you for bringing it back to me! 🙂

  4. Thanks, everyone! It’s one of those easy, bringing back memories recipes that you may have forgotten, can’t remember why you forgot them and just can’t resist!

Leave a Reply

