• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Pickled Beets

This might need to fall into Ernie’s category of ‘why, oh, why, oh why, did you do that’, but the process was simple and the end result was delicious. And while I have to admit that my fingers are still a lovely shade of pink (my signature color), these pickled beets are far better than anything you can buy in a jar and take very little time to prepare. Most of the work is done while the beets sit in the brine and you try to figure out how to de-pink everything!

  • 1 c cider vinegar
  • 1 c water
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, quartered
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 whole cloves
  • 1 1/2 tsp black peppercorns
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 pounds medium beets, peeled and cut into 2″x1/2 sticks

NOTE: I have two words for myself the next time (and yes, Ernie, there will be a next time) GLOV-EZZZZZ. Who knew? I should have known. One of the Science Fair experiments that Tommy did in elementary school was dying cloth with vegetables. Beets was the one that dyed the fabric the best. Why did that thought come to me AFTER I peeled and cut the beets bare handed?  Also, I didn’t use red onion. I’m not a big fan of onions with beets, so I skipped them (and I didn’t have one). Next time, for completeness sake, I will add one to see if there is a difference.

In a saucepan, bring vinegar, water, sugar, onion, garlic, mustard seeds, bay leaves, cloves, peppercorns, thyme and oregano to boil.

NOTE: I brought this to a boil once I put the beets in to boil. I wanted to make sure that this was still boiling hot when I poured it over the beets.

In a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the beets until crisp tender, about 10 minutes. Drain and transfer to a heatproof bowl.

NOTE: I think it needed slightly more than 10 minutes. While mine are good, they could be a little softer, but not much.

Pour the hot liquid over the beets and let stand at room temperature for 4 hours or refrigerate overnight. Drain the beets, transfer to a bowl and serve.

NOTE: Any time I walked through the kitchen, I stirred these a bit. The beets weren’t submerged in the liquid, and I wanted to make sure everything had equal time in the liquid.

I stored the beets in the fridge with some of the liquid. We ate them after 4 hours and they were great! The next day even better! Really quick and easy and perhaps makes me think that I too can pickle and preserve. Next experiment OLIVES!

2 Responses

  1. Look at those rosy pink beauties! Looks wonderful!
    I have three big beets languishing in the fridge right now that I was going to roast….
    Hmmmm…..maybe I will try this. I have lovely jars to use!
    Gotta see if I have gloves…I believe that I do.
    xo

Leave a Reply

