Blackberry-Swirl Pound Cake ~ Part 2

As those of you who follow my kitchen antics regularly may recall this cake the first time around was difficult for me. Taste was totally there, but not really nice looking. What I labeled a successful failure.

After I tweeted on Twitter that I was a twit with this cake, Danielle from Everyday Food contacted me and we emailed back and forth a bit to see where the problem with the cake lay. I promised to give it another try with the new knowledge in hand, and here we are again.

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan
  • 6 ounces blackberries
  • 1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream, room temperature

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly butter a 5-by-9-inch loaf pan and line with parchment, leaving a 2-inch overhang on all sides; butter parchment.
 
NOTE: I did butter the parchment this time and used two pieces so it wasn’t so smooshed in the pan.
 
In a food processor, puree blackberries with 2 tablespoons sugar. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder.
 
NOTE: The blackberry puree looked thicker this time, so I did not cook them down. For a third go round, I think I will cook them down a little.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat together butter and 1 1/4 cups sugar until light and fluffy, 5 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat to combine, scraping down bowl as needed.

With mixer on low, add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture.

Transfer half the batter to pan and dot with 1/2 cup blackberry puree.

NOTE: Now, while I did not cook the blackberry puree down, and it was not as loose as Cake No. 1, it could have been thicker. I took Danielle’s advice and used less puree. I think I used too little puree this time out of fear. According to Danielle, you should have 2/3 a cup of puree. This measurement was a little confusing to me as the recipe says to use 1/2 cup for the middle of the cake, but I went with the program.

Repeat with remaining batter and puree.

NOTE: I did not use ANYWHERE near as much puree as I had or as used last time. I saved the left over to put on yogurt or waffles. I think I should have used a teensy bit more.

With a skewer or thin-bladed knife, swirl batter and puree together. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, about 1 1/4 hours.

NOTE: I took Danielle’s advice here as well and swirled and brought some of the batter up to the top.

Let cool in pan on a wire rack, 30 minutes. Lift cake out of pan and place on a serving plate; let cool completely before slicing. (Store cooled cake, wrapped tightly in plastic, at room temperature, up to 3 days.)

NOTE: This cake was a whole different ball game. It was not as messy looking, had more of a swirl going through, but I think I need more puree next time.

Thank you so much for your time and patience, Danielle and Dawn. I would have given up without you!

4 Responses

  1. Looks much better than the first time, I bet it was delicious!….I think what you mean is that you should end up with 2/3 of a cup, total of the puree after using 6 ounces of blackberries…and 1/2 cup of that would go into the middle of the cake and the remaining puree would be used after the rest of the batter was placed on top of the first go round of puree….right?
    So I would just measure a 1/2 cup out of the 2/3 cup…make sense?
    Did you use fresh blackberries or frozen?

    • I used fresh berries. The measurements made perfect sense. The recipe as written doesn’t say that. I have done this twice and have come up with WAY more than 2/3 a cup. What I think is silly about the 2/3 instruction is that you are supposed to have 2/3 and use 1/2 cup of that for the center and the rest on top. Too many measurements! AND I used 1/2 cup for the center and it wasn’t enough! The balance of what’s left from 2/3 cup when you take a 1/2 cup out is almost nothing, so I added more in. That part of the recipe is just not right as written.

      • It does sound a little bit wacky….I hate having to deal with fractions! Measuring 2/3 of a cup and then taking a half cup out of that????? Well the cake looks good and now you can eyeball it…I wonder how it would work with frozen berries…I have a large package in the freezer….waiting!

      • I think frozen would work, but could be watery. But if they’re too loose, the suggestion from the gals at Everyday Food was to cook them down a bit to thicken them.

Leave a Reply

