Roasted Beef with Caramelized Shallots

Every(thurs)day Food Magazine (disaster) dinner.

Looks beautiful, right? Should have been beautiful. It was a mess.

Fortunately, the fault was not in the recipe ~ the fault was not even mine! My roasting dish CRACKED in the oven (see picture below)! Temperature up high, I’m doing laundry, I hear a pop, thought nothing of it, must be the puppy. When I opened the oven to throw in the onions (shallots looked really yucky at the market) I noticed the crack – cracked completely in HALF! Shrieking ensued – my son to the rescue with another roasting pan, meat transferred, onions transferred. All the juices GONE – well, not gone exactly, all over the bottom of my oven.

So this was a debacle on two fronts – my beautiful roasting dish is now trash (or perhaps I should think more like Martha, I should keep it, break it up and make a mosaic trivet out of it) AND my roast has now turned into shoe leather. There was no saving either.

  • 5-¾ pounds boneless ribeye roast (with fat), tied, if desired
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2 pounds shallots, peeled and halved
  • 2 teaspoons light-brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

NOTE: I Made a much smaller roast, we were feeding only 4. The shallots at the market that morning were pretty grotty looking so I opted for onions.

Preheat oven to 500°. Season beef with salt and pepper. Place in a large roasting pan; roast until golden brown, 30 minutes.

NOTE: POP! And the baking dish does say oven safe and I have used it at high heat in the oven before!

Reduce oven temperature to 325° . Place shallots around beef; roast until an instant-read thermometer inserted into thickest part of beef registers 130° for medium-rare, 1 to 1 1/4 hours more, turning shallots with tongs after about 30 minutes.

Transfer beef to a platter; tent loosely with foil. Transfer shallots to a shallow bowl (continue cooking if not golden brown). Toss with sugar and vinegar; season with salt and pepper. Cover with foil to keep warm.

NOTE: I was too aggravated to do this, though I should have, the yummy onions may have helped – though I doubt it!

Pour off fat from pan. Add wine; cook over medium heat until syrupy, scraping bottom of pan, 2 to 4 minutes. Add 2 cups water; cook until reduced by half, 4 to 8 minutes. Strain into a small bowl; whisk in mustard and any accumulated juices from beef. Season with salt and pepper; serve with beef and shallots.

NOTE: No fat, no juice, no nothing!

My husband and son are champs. Not a single word about how Sahara dry the roast was. Once I said, “THIS IS AWFUL” did a smirk even cross their faces. We mustered our way through and had a pleasant dinner any way – mostly because once I started everyone else around the table had the giggles that Mom had a MAJOR kitchen disaster that could not be saved by turning it into something else!

One Response

  1. Oh my. I’m so sorry about your roasting pan, and your dinner, and your oven. Ugh. That will probably NOT be fun nto clean. I guess it happens to the best of us every now and then. Better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

