Homemade Spaetzle

Side dishes are the thorns in my side. I can never decide what to make. I am tired of potatoes and tired of rice. I need to spend more time reading through my books again looking at side dishes. Mine are BORING.

And, why you may wonder, am I telling you this tale of woe? Well, I’ll tell ya …

I was leafing through old cooking magazines that seem to be taking over my living room, bed room, bath room. Stacks and stacks, many of which I have never even had the chance to look through yet. I have promised my husband (and myself) that I would weed through and get rid of some. Well, he says ‘all’ I say ‘a few’, we settled on some, which quite frankly could be anything from 3 to – who are we kidding, 3.

As I was going through an old Food Network Magazine, I came across a recipe for Homemade Spaetzle. Well, this doesn’t look difficult, I foolishly thought. It will go perfectly with the pork cutlets I am planning for dinner. Let’s go!

There aren’t many ingredients. The process looks simple enough. Best laid plans of mice and men, my friends. This was a DISaster!

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • Kosher salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter; 2 tablespoons melted
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Chopped fresh parsley, for garnish

Mix the flour, eggs and a pinch of salt in a bowl, then gradually stir in up to 1 cup water to make a smooth, batter-like dough. Beat with a wooden spoon until bubbles form, then stir in the melted butter.

NOTE: BUBBLES? What bubbles? No bubbles. I don’t see bubbles. Keep going it will be okay. Add in the butter. Still no bubbles. I have less like a batter and more like a loose dough.

Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil. Place about 1 cup of the dough in a colander with large holes; use a rubber spatula to push the dough through the holes and into the boiling water. (Or use a spaetzle press.)

NOTE: If I were ever stupid enough to attempt this again, I would buy the spaetzle press.

NOTE NOTE: This ‘batter’ was so thick, it wouldn’t press through ANYTHING!

Cook for about 1 minute after the spaetzle float to the surface, then transfer with a slotted spoon to another colander. Repeat with the remaining dough. Rinse the spaetzle in cold water if not serving immediately and set aside.

NOTE: From here on in it was a breeze. Scoop them up, let the drain, repeat.

Before serving, saute the spaetzle in a skillet with the remaining 2 tablespoons butter until warmed through. Season with pepper and garnish with parsley.

The end result was tasty, but the process HORRIFYING. I ended up tearing little bits of the thick ‘batter’ with my fingers and dropping it in the boiling water. It took forever. The kitchen was a mess. I was a mess. I used nearly every utensil, pot, pan and gadget trying to figure out how to get this finished. Never, ever, never, again!

 

6 Responses

  1. Thanks for the warning. Dually noted—NO HOMEMADE SPAETZLE! I actually have never had spaetzle at all. Am I missing something? Should I find spaetzle somewhere?

    • I don’t think you’re necessarily missing something. The last time I had it was in a German restaurant. If you do a search for the spaetzle recipe from Food Network magazine there’s a photo. It just looked so good!

  2. enjoyed reading your post-we’ve all had our share of kitchen disasters!!!

  3. OY!!!!! I wish you had called me….I could have walked you through the process without the use of the spaetzle maker, which I actually prefer to the spaetzle maker.
    Next time maybe? They are worth a next time…I promise!

  4. Oh, I love spaetzle! It’s been a long time since I’ve made any! Sorry yours didn’t work perfectly…it’s worth trying again!!!! Let me know if you want my recipe…I can dig it out.

  5. I love reading your posts! Catching up with things I missed while I was out of town. Now I promise you, you can make spaetzle. This recipe is just wierd. Bubbles? I never heard of looking for those. Try Mark Bittman’s recipe. It’s pretty much the same as the way my grandmother always made them. I’ve always used a spaetzle maker and it is super easy.

    Spaetzle – serves 4

    Salt
    2 cups flour
    1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
    3 eggs
    1 cup milk, more if needed
    2 to 4 Tbsp butter or olive oil
    Chopped fresh parsley or chives for garnish.

    Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Mix flour, pepper and a pinch of salg. Lightly beat the eggs and milk, then stir into the flour. If necessary, add a little more milk until the mixture is like pancake batter.

    Put the batter in your spaetzle maker and let the spaetzle drop into the pot of boiling water. When spaetzle rise to top (should take a couple of minutes) cook for another minute or so. If they don’t rise to the top on their own, loosen them with a spoon. When they have cooked, remove with a slotted spoon into a bowl of ice water. Repeat until you’ve used all the batter

    Drain the spaetzle. At this point you can toss them with a bit of oil and refrigerate, covered, for up to a day. Or, heat butter or oil in a large skillet, over medium-high heat. Add the spaetzle a few at a time, and quickly brown on both sides. Serve hot, garnished with parsley or chives.

    My grandmother normally used water instead of milk and she didn’t add pepper. She also did things like mix the spaetzle with gouda cheese and bake it similarly to macaroni and cheese. I’ve also tried them with chopped parsley and thyme mixed into the batter. And they are really good added to some pan fried onions. Don’t let this bad recipe get the best of you!

Leave a Reply

