Blackberry-Swirl Pound Cake

Walking through the supermarket, wanting to bake something, waiting for inspiration, I came across these glorious blackberries.

Could you resist these? I know I couldn’t. And then from the recesses of my memory, I remembered a recipe in Everyday Food magazine for a Blackberry-Swirl Pound Cake. There was my answer!

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan
  • 6 ounces blackberries
  • 1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream, room temperature
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
 
Lightly butter a 5-by-9-inch loaf pan and line with parchment, leaving a 2-inch overhang on all sides; butter parchment.
 
NOTE: I forgot to butter the parchment, and it made no difference.
 
In a food processor, puree blackberries with 2 tablespoons sugar. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat together butter and 1 1/4 cups sugar until light and fluffy, 5 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat to combine, scraping down bowl as needed.

With mixer on low, add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture.

Transfer half the batter to pan and dot with 1/2 cup blackberry puree.

NOTE: As you can see the inky black-purple of the black berries is very hard to capture.  And this is where I ran into my troubles. Yes, trouble with a capital T and that rhymes with B and that stands for BLACKBERRIES. My puree wasn’t thick enough. So there was no DOTTING the puree – not for a lack of trying!

Repeat with remaining batter and puree.

NOTE: Again, same problem.  I did something wrong, but I have NO clue what it was! All I could hope for was an oven miracle.

With a skewer or thin-bladed knife, swirl batter and puree together. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, about 1 1/4 hours.

Let cool in pan on a wire rack, 30 minutes. Lift cake out of pan and place on a serving plate; let cool completely before slicing. (Store cooled cake, wrapped tightly in plastic, at room temperature, up to 3 days.)

NOTE: This cake was really very good, though I didn’t have the swirl inside that you see in the magazine photo. This is definitely a do again cake. I just need to figure out where I went wrong with the puree!  Any thoughts?

5 Responses

  1. Oooh – this looks and sounds delicious! I love blackberries! I’ll bet this would make a wonderful weekend breakfast. Yum!

  2. I have no clue, but when I recently roasted pumpkins, the directions said to set the puree over a strainer with a bowl underneath it for an hour or two; like you strain yogurt. I wonder if that would work…although it would be a very tedious process and probably not worth all the annoyance. It looks delicious though and that’s all that matters in my book! 🙂

  3. Wow…I have no clue why that happened. Perhaps the puree needed to be cooked a little so it would thicken,, so it would be more jam like and thicker?????
    Anyway as long as it tasted good…thats all that matters right?

Leave a Reply

