• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Jam Doughnut Muffins

There has been nobody home for months. It has been too UNBEARABLY hot to even look at the oven, much less light it up. How happy was I to wake up chilly one morning and have the jones to get baking. Question was, what to bake, what to bake. 

I must admit here and now, that I a total sucker for jelly doughnuts, but the thought of piping jelly into the center was not doing it for me. Then I remembered in one of Nigella Lawson’s books – How To Be A Domestic Goddess – there was a simple recipe for a jam fille doughnut. Problem solved.

These were so simple and quick to put together.

  • 200 g self-rising flour
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 125 ml milk
  • 85 ml vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • jam (just your favorite here!)

NOTE: The original recipe said strawberry. Not too  many strawberry jam fans in our house, so I just used a favorite. I sure it doesn’t matter much what you use here.

For topping

  • 125 g unsalted butter
  • sugar and cinnamon for dusting

Preheat the oven to 375°F.

With a fork, beat together the milk, oil, egg and vanilla extract. Stir this into the flour and sugar to combine.

NOTE: Don’t overbeat the muffins or they will be tough. Don’t worry about the lumps, they won’t be there at the end (neither will the muffins!).

Butter a mini muffin tin and spoon the mixture into each muffin cup, about 1/3 full.  With a teaspoon place a dollop of jam on top of batter. Top with more butter so cups are just about full.

NOTE: Nigella’s actual recipe says a dollop of jam about the size of a broad bean. It really needs more than that, and probably more than I used this time.

Bake for about 20 minutes or until the tops feel springy and resistant and the muffins have puffed up.

Meanwhile, melt the butter and pour into a shallow howl. In another shallow bowl add the sugar.  As soon as the muffins are ready, remove them from their cups, dip them in the butter, and roll them in the sugar. Eat warm.

NOTE: I added cinnamon to the sugar. Yum! But this part needs to be worked on a little. I rolled the doughnut in the butter and then in the sugar, The sugar was VERY wet.

Trust me, this little glitch is purely an esthetic problem. I took two doughnuts off the plate for the husband and the rest were INSTANTLY devoured!

4 Responses

  1. This looks like the perfect weekend breakfast treat! My kids will thank you next weekend.have you ever tried putting chocolate in the center? Thanks for sharing.

  2. MMmmmm…these look good. I have never seen the Hecker’s Self Rising flour here. I love Heckers!

  3. They look great, and I’m a bit of a fan of that book too!

    You’re right about the cooler weather – I’m starting to make batches of chutney now, and you can’t really do that when it’s hot!

Leave a Reply

