Fresh Corn Salad

One of my favorite Ina Garten recipes is her Fresh Corn Salad from The Barefoot Contessa cookbook. It is the ultimate summer in a bowl recipe. It is great with anything you throw on the grill, a rainy day indoor meal to bring sunshine inside, or a winter pick-me-up to remind you summer has to be coming soon!

Driving back from the Hamptons one weekend, there was stand after stand of fresh fruit, vegetable and flowers. Piles and piles of fresh corn. How could I not stop and buy some? I started making plans of what to do with my booty, top on the list the Fresh Corn Salad!

I adapted this recipe from Ina’s, a few of my own twists, a bit of a South of the Border flair.

  • 5 ears of corn, shucked
  • 1/2 cup diced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin (more to your taste)
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the corn for 3 minutes until the starchiness is just gone. Drain and immerse it in ice water to stop the cooking and to set the color. When the corn is cool, cut the kernels off the cob, cutting close to the cob.

NOTE: My husband would certainly disagree, but I need one of them fancy corn strippers! For the number of times a year I actually make this I suppose I could suffer through cutting  the corn off with a knife, but wouldn’t one of those strippers be much more fun!?

Toss the kernels in a large bowl with the red onions, lime juice, olive oil, cumin, salt, and pepper. Just before serving, toss in the chopped cilantro. Taste for seasonings and serve cold or at room temperature.

NOTE: The nice thing about this salad is how many ways it can be changed to suit what you’re cooking. I swapped out the vinegar and basil in Ina’s recipe for lime juice and cilantro. I have added tomatoes. I have added string beans or sugar snap peas. I have used frozen corn in the winter and even – GASP – canned corn when the yen for the salad has struck. Try it once and you will be hooked!

3 Responses

  1. I’m a sucker for any summer corn salad. Our corn has been fabulous this year. I’ll try this soon!!!

  2. so simple, yet so delicious – fresh corn is plentiful & cheap right now – I think this will be on tomorrow nights menu.
    Thanks for posting, always enjoy your blog.

  3. Looks great Annie…nothing like sweet summer corn!

Leave a Reply

