• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blueberry Pie

So technically, this isn’t out of a published cookbook, it is out of a cookbook my mother made for my sister and I called Cooking with Mom. It was all of our favorite childhood recipe in a leather bound book. Not just her recipes, but my grandmothers’ recipes, aunts, family friends, etc. This blueberry pie recipe has been in my family forever and it’s my son’s favorite.

As a last meal before leaving for 3 months to work, this was the only thing he emphatically requested. And, with the exception of my giant snafu, this is the easiest blueberry pie to make!

Blueberry Pie

  • 2 Pints blueberries rinsed and drained
  • 1 blind baked deep dish pie shell
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1 T cinnamon (I usually use less)
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 2 pats of butter

Place one pint of berries in cooked (!!!) pie shell.

NOTE: This is where my disaster struck. I make this pie so often, I do it by rote. I dump the fresh berries in the pie shell. Cook up the filling. It’s beautiful and thick. I pour it over the berries. Smooth out the top.  Something does not look right. It took a beat or two and then the penny dropped. I FORGOT TO BLIND BAKE THE PIE SHELL! Sigh. I blind baked another. and scraped the filling in and no one knew the difference – except ME!! Fortunately when the hot berries are poured onto the fresh they sort of cook the fresh slightly so it wasn’t as disastrous as I originally thought it would be!

Place one pint if berries, sugar, cornstarch and cinnamon in saucepan. Cook down until thick.. Add lemon juice, swirl in butter. Pour mixture over uncooked berries.

Let sit and cool a bit and you are done!

(How easy was that!?)

3 Responses

  1. Yummmmmmmmmm……

  2. All’s well that ends well. Your pie looks delish. I got blueberries this week that need using.

  3. Looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

