• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Thumbprints for us Big Guys

Oven trouble put me way behind in everything I had planned. Sigh. Isn’t that always the way!

I have made a version of these cookies for years – I believe it was from one of Martha Stewart’s books – and it’s been a staple in my Christmas cookie rotation. I had not tried this recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours, and truthfully was a little apprehensive as my mind was set on my tried and true recipe. I was very pleasantly surprised!

  • 1 3/4 C finely ground hazelnuts
  • 1 3/4 C All-Purpose flour
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp pure almond extract
  • Powdered sugar
  • About 1 C raspberry jam

NOTE: Could NOT find ground hazelnuts. I really hate toasting, steaming and skinning hazelnuts. I did enough this time to have enough in the freezer for another batch of these delicious cookies!

Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Mix the ground nuts and flour together.

In a mixer, cream the butter and sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the vanilla and almond extracts. Turn the mixer to low and add the nut/flour mixture to the mixer. Mix until just incorporated.

NOTE: I had to mix with a wooden spoon after. There were spots that just did not incorporate.

Scoop about 1 teaspoon dough. Roll the dough into a ball and place about 2″ apart on the cookie sheet. You need to press an indentation in the center of cookie with your finger or the back of a wooden spoon.

NOTE: I used a wooden spoon. A teaspoon of dough makes teeny tiny cookie, so I used the round, handle end of the spoon to make the indentation. Be sure that the indentation is in the center or the jam will flow out.

 

Bake for 15 – 18 minutes, they should be lightly colored, but not too brown. Let the cookies rest for a few minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack and dust them with powdered sugar.

NOTE: Because these were so tiny they didn’t need anywhere near 15 minutes to cook! You need a light dusting and not too much in the indentation or the jam doesn’t go in too easily.

In a saucepan melt jam. Fill the cookies to top of indentation.Let cool completely. The filling will set as it cools.

NOTE: I melted the jam in the microwave. 2 minutes and I had melted jam.

One Response

  1. These look like cute little things…like jewels…
    Hope your oven is better now…I hate when that happens!
    I actually have some hazelnuts all de-skinned and toasted in the freezer….hmmmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

