Individual Meat Loaves

 
There are big meatloaf fans in my house, so when one of this month’s Barefoot Blogger recipes was Ina Garten’s Individual Meat Loaves, I was excited.
 
This recipe is nearly the same as the Turkey Meatloaf from the Barefoot Contessa Cookbook – the change here is beef for turkey and breaking it down to smaller loaves instead of one large meatloaf.
 
Truthfully, I very rarely vary from my own meatloaf mixture. It’s a little of this and a little of that. But I really like the sautéed onion mixture and may just have to incorporate that into my own meatloaf mixture. It smells great as it’s cooking.
 
  • 1 tablespoon good olive oil
  • 3 cups chopped yellow onions (3 onions)
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup canned chicken stock or broth
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2 1/2 pounds ground chuck (81 percent lean)
  • 1/2 cup plain dry bread crumbs
  • 2 extra-large eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup ketchup (recommended: Heinz)

NOTE: Again, that phrase ‘good olive oil’. Does anyone go to the store and buy crappy olive oil? Is this extra virgin olive oil or just olive oil. Now, my grandmother taught me that you cook with olive oil and finish or dress with extra virgin olive oil. That being the case, use olive oil. Just don’t buy the one with the label that says crappy.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat the olive oil in a medium saute pan. Add the onions, thyme, salt, and pepper and cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, for 8 to 10 minutes, until the onions are translucent but not brown.

Take the pan off the heat, mix in the Worcestershire sauce, chicken stock, and tomato paste. Cool to room temperature.

In a large bowl, combine the meat, onion mixture, bread crumbs, and eggs, and mix lightly with a fork. Don’t mash or the meatloaf will be dense.

NOTE: You really cannot mix this with a fork – or a spoon. I can’t imagine anyone using a masher. Roll up your sleeves and get your hands messy. It is really the fastest most efficient way to mix it.

Divide the mixture into 6 (10 to 11-ounce) portions and shape each portion into a small loaf on a foil lined sheet pan. Spread about a tablespoon of ketchup on the top of each portion. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, until the internal temperature is 155 to 160 degrees F and the meat loaves are cooked through.

NOTE: I lined my sheet pan with Reynold’s Quick Release foil. This stuff is great. Easy clean-up. Easy to get the loaves off the sheet pan. And as a bonus, because they don’t stick, there’s  a nice crust on the bottom of each loaf.  Also, next time I think I may use BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup for a little kick!

6 Responses

  1. Your loaves look great!

    I had to LOL @ your “good olive oil” remark. I agree, regular olive oil for cooking, extra virgin for dressing. If you notice her recipe, she is recommending certain companies…reminds me of Slop(Sandra Lee). I hope she doesn’t go down THAT road.

  2. Looks great!

  3. Your loaves turned out great! Glad you enjoyed this recipe.

  4. They look great, like you – I love to try different meatloaf recipes so this will be my next “try”.

  5. I like the idea of a mini-meatloaf. Anything mini is always better – like cupcakes. Just makes it look more appetizing to me.

Leave a Reply

