• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

The Essential Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

I have had the King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion sitting on my shelves for ages. It must be the sheer size and weight of the book that I find daunting. But, in the spirit of trying to use all of my cookbooks and expand my culinary horizons, I sat and tried to find something to bake. Chocolate chip cookies are always good. Right? I thought I could start with these and then perhaps be able to break into this book.

Essential Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Makes 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup(1 1/2 sticks, 6 ounces) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup (5 1/4 ounces) dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2/3 cup (4 3/4 ounces) granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 ounces) light corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon (1/2 ounce) cider or white vinegar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 1/4 cups (9 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups (18 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

NOTE: I used Lyle’s Golden Syrup. I couldn’t find the light corn syrup in my cabinet. I also thought twice about the vinegar, but I thought for the first time through a recipe I always do it as written.

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Place parchment paper on two baking sheets.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, cream together the butter, sugars, corn syrup and vinegar, then beat in the eggs. Beat in the vanilla, salt, baking powder and baking soda, then stir in the flour and chips.

NOTE: This is a very soft and silky cookie dough. I had my Kitchen Aide bowl near the cookie sheets. The heat from the sheets caused the dough to get so sticky it was hard to dish out.

Drop the dough by the tablespoonful onto the prepared baking sheets. Bake the cookies for 10 minutes, until they’re just set, the centers may still look a bit undone. Remove them from the oven and transfer them to a rack to cool.

NOTE: The cookies go from just set to crisp quickly. The first batch was crispy the second soft. Both really GOOD!  THese are not the usual craggy, bumpy chocolate chip cookie. The top is very smooth and almost glossy looking.

3 Responses

  1. how yummy, as always.

    Michael

  2. These look really good…I have been making the Alton Brown chewy recipe lately. I should give these a try. I think the addition of the corn syrup sounds interesting…

  3. you always have the best looking cookies!

Leave a Reply

