Union Square Cafe Bar Nuts

One of my favorite things about cocktail time are the little nibbles to go along with the cocktails. And one of my favorite nibbles are the Union Square Cafe Nuts from the restaurant of the same name and Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Bites. These are yummy with cocktails or just watching television. I usually have a bag in the freezer for those emergency cocktail times!

The Union Square Cafe’s Bar Nuts

  • 2 1/4 cups (18-ounces) assorted unsalted nuts, including peeled peanuts, cashews, Brazil nuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans and whole unpeeled almonds
  • 2 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoons dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Maldon or other sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted

NOTE: Trader Joe’s makes a great nut mix that is perfect for this. One bag is perfect for one batch!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spread nuts out on a baking sheet. Toast in the oven until light golden brown, about 10 minutes.

NOTE: If you buy nuts separately, mix them together before putting them on the baking sheet.

In a large bowl, combine the rosemary, cayenne, sugar, salt and melted butter. Once toasted, thoroughly toss the toasted nuts in the spiced butter and serve warm. And once you eat these, you will never want to stop.

15 Responses

  1. I love these nuts. I used to make them all the time but haven’t made them in quite some time. I’ll have to pick up some nuts while I’m out today – they’ll make a great snack while watching football!!

  2. Great minds think alike! I made these as well and we just loved them.
    I love that bowl too, so pretty. Is one of those martinis for me? 😉

  3. Oh these seem so so good….i would love to try these with cashew nuts and a large pitcher of absolutely chilled pepsi

  4. I want some right now…for breakfast.
    These are great and I have not had them for a really long time!
    Those drinks looks pretty nice as well….at 8:00am

  5. What a nice treat to snack on while watching Nigella’s show!

  6. They sound wonderful! Do they have a smokey flavor?

  7. Where is the party ? I want some !

  8. Bar nuts are the perfect happy hour food! Gotta love that spicy kick from the cayenne:D

  9. I love the Union Square Bar Nuts–a great choice and they look perfect with your cocktails.

  10. FABULOUS!!! My hubby is going to LOVE these. Definitely happy hour material. Yummm!

  11. These sound delish! Thanks for the recipe and how-to. Now I want to have a cocktail party.

Leave a Reply

