Snickerdoodles

 
Cookies! Why aren’t there any cookies in my house! ‘Mom, do you know how to make Snickerdoodles?’ Well, no, but I bet Martha does! Sure enough, there is a recipe for Snickerdoodles in Martha Stewart’s Cookies. So off we go.
By the way, the Snickerdoodles recipe on Martha’s website is different than what is in the book. I went  with the recipe in the book.
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar, plus 2 tablespoons, more if needed
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon, plus more if needed
  • 2 large eggs

NOTE: I don’t know what I was doing while reading the ingredients, but I only used 2 1/4 cups of flour (and this was with reading glasses). Fortunately, I realized this before I started rolling the cookies and added another 1/2 cup and it was fine.

Preheat the oven to 350 degree. Line baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl; set aside.

Combine butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment. Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl. Add eggs, and beat to combine.  Change speed to low and add dry ingredients.

In a small bowl, combine remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon. Shape dough into 20 1 3/4-in balls and roll in cinnamon sugar. Place about 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.

Bake cookies,  rotating the baking sheets halfway through the cooking time, until the edges are golden – about 12 to 15 minutes. Cool cookies on wire rack. Store in an airtight container up to 1 week.

NOTE: I used a cookie scoop. I just don’t have the patience to roll all the dough out. And again, this was blind woman baking and didn’t see how LARGE these were to be, so I naturally had many more than 20 cookies. I mean, really, 20 cookies? What can you do with that?

4 Responses

  1. Yummm…gotta try this recipe ….”the boy” loves Snickerdoodles….

  2. Snickerdoodles are one of my favorite types of cookies! I’ll have to try this recipe!!

  3. P.S. I forgot to tell you that I LOVE the photo of the mixer in motion!!

Leave a Reply

