Indonesian Ginger Chicken

I always find that Ina Garten’s early recipes work and her newer ones don’t always work so well. For this reason, I was happy to see that one of the choices for Barefoot Bloggers this month was for Indonesian Ginger Chicken from the Barefoot Contessa Cookbook.

Looked relatively simple. Four ingredients for the marinade and chicken. Sadly, I have a habit of not reading a recipe all the way through before I jump in. This time I missed MARINATE OVER NIGHT (insert heavy sigh). By the time I had everything together, the chicken was in the marinade for  5 1/2 hours – and, honestly, it made no difference. The chicken was tender and flavorful, incredible aroma through the house – a total success.

  • 1 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup minced garlic (8 to 12 cloves)
  • 1/2 cup peeled and grated fresh ginger root
  • 2 (3 1/2 pound) chickens, quartered, with backs removed

NOTE: 1/2 cup of grated ginger! That’s a lot of ginger. I used a little less than that. Not so much from not wanting a lot of ginger but from an inability to judge how much ginger would be 1/2 a cup.

Cook the honey, soy sauce, garlic, and ginger root in a small saucepan over low heat until the honey is melted. Arrange the chicken in a single layer in a shallow baking pan, skin side down, and pour on the sauce. Cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil. Marinate overnight in the refrigerator.

NOTE: In my case, 5 1/2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the baking pan in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover the pan, turn the chicken skin side up, and raise the temperature to 375 degrees F. Continue baking for 30 minutes or until the juices run clear when you cut between a leg and thigh and the sauce is a rich, dark brown.

NOTE: I removed the baking dish from the fridge about 30 minutes before putting into the oven. It should have been out of the fridge a little longer. Because it was cold, I added about 5 minutes to the first cooking time and 7 to the second cooking time.

I served this with Basmati rice that I cooked in chicken stock, and broccoli and cauliflower florets that I roasted. Definitely a recipe to try again!

4 Responses

  1. This is one of my favorite Ina dishes, but I haven’t made it in a long, long time. Thanks for the reminder, Annie. I’ll be making this soon! Yum!

  2. Wowzer…I have not made this in forever. Looks great Annie…
    Also like it on the grill in the summer….
    I should also reviisit this one…
    Yummmmmm…….
    L~xo

  3. I thought the chicken tasted better cold the next day

Leave a Reply

