Chicken Satay

A number of years ago I received 1000 Recipes by Martha Day from a friend in the UK, and it sat on my shelf for years and years. This recipe turns out to be a double bonus. First, it keeps with my wanting to cook from different cookbooks in my collection and, second, fits in with this month’s recipe from Daring Cooks.

The recipe posted was for Pork Satay, but chicken satay is a favorite here, so I went with chicken instead.

Satay Marinade

  • 2  T vegetable oil (or peanut or olive oil)
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix all marinade ingredients well. Cut chicken into 1 inch thick strips , any length. Cover chicken with marinade. Put chicken and marinade into a zip-loc bag, seal and chill.

NOTE: I used a package of chicken tenderloins. Work done for you. I think next time it may need more lemon, or perhaps lime instead.

If you are using wooden or bamboo skewers, soak your skewers in warm water for at least 20 minutes before putting chicken on skewers.

Gently and slowly slide meat strips onto skewers. Discard leftover marinade.

NOTE: If you’re grilling or broiling, you should definitely brush once with extra marinade when you flip the skewers, and then discard the marinade.

Broil or grill (or pan fry on medium-high) for 8-10 minutes or until the edges just start to char. Flip and cook another 8-10 minutes.

NOTE: I used a stove top grill pan, which filled my house with smoke! Said grill pan is no out of my house! I knew a cheap grill pan would cause me heartache!

Peanut Sauce

  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 4 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1-2 dried red chilies, chopped (keep the seeds for heat)

Mix dry ingredients in a small bowl. Add soy sauce and lemon, mix well.  Over low heat, combine coconut milk, peanut butter and the mixture from the small bowl. Mix well, stirring often.

NOTE: All you’re doing here is melting the peanut butter, so make your peanut sauce after you’ve flipped the satay, or make ahead of time and reheat. I added crushed peanuts to the top of the sauce for some texture.

  

NOTE: The chicken has a kick of heat from the cayenne, but as you kept eating it just went away.  Makes WAY more sauce than chicken! Next time I will not put the entire bowl on the table for dipping, this way I can keep it in the fridge for something else during the week.

This must have been good. This is all that was left!

4 Responses

  1. This look delicious! I love satay. I’m going to give this one a try. Thanks, Annie –

  2. Looking good…..yummmmmmmmmmm

  3. I really like those plates! The chicken looks good, too.

Leave a Reply

