• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons

I have really never been much of a Susan Branch fan. It just may be that she’s too cutesy for me. That being said, a number of years ago I received a copy of Christmas Joy in a Christmas exchange.  I flipped through it and as I was flipping I landed on a recipe for Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons.  Well, amidst the distracting font and overly adorable hand drawn pictures, I truly found a gem!

I love coconut macaroons and this recipe is so simple and turns out beautifully every time.  You get about 30 macaroons from this recipe.

  • 2 2/3 cup flake coconut, firmly packed
  •  2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unbleached flour
  • 4 egg whites, unbeaten
  • 1 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  You don’t need anything electric for this recipe.

In a bowl, combine coconut, sugar and flour. Stir in the egg whites, sliced almonds, vanilla extract and almond extract.

NOTE:  I leave out the almonds and almond extract.

Whether you use only vanilla or both vanilla and almond extract, use pure vanilla and almond extract. The macaroons are so light and simple that you can taste the chemical flavor in the imitation. Make your own vanilla! It’s SO easy!

Form rounded tablespoonfuls into balls and place 2 inches apart on lightly greased cookie sheets.

NOTE: I use a cookie scoop. They’re all uniform in size and shape that way. Also, I use parchment paper and not greased cookie sheets. Clean up is so much easier.

Bake 20-25 minutes until golden. remove from pans while hot and allow to cool.

For the Dipping:

  • 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate

Melt chocolate in double boiler, stirring until 2/3 melted; remove from heat and continue stirring until completely melted. Dip one edge of each cookie into chocolate and set on wax paper to allow chocolate to set.

NOTE: I also dip just the bottom of the cookie in.

These keep well in an airtight container – if you can keep your family from eating them!

2 Responses

  1. Oh those look wonderful…one of my favorite cookies…I will have to give this recipe a go!
    Hope you had a fabulous Christmas!

  2. They look delicious! Coconut macaroons are one of my favorite cookies. I made a version a couple of weeks ago. I’ll have to try this recipe to compare Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

