Breakfast Bars

My son is not a breakfast eater so I am constantly in search of a grab and go, but healthy, alternative for him.  While re-aquainting myself with Nigella Express, I came across a recipe for Breakfast Bars. This looked like it could be the answer to my problem.

Reading the recipe, it really looks simple. I gathered up the ingredients and set to work.

  • 1 14 oz. can condensed milk
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats (not instant)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup mixed seeds
  • 1 cup unsalted peanuts

NOTE: I used pumpkin, sesame, and sunflower and I toasted them first. I also used roasted, unsalted peanuts.

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. You need a 9×13 pan.

In a large bowl add all the dry ingredients.

Warm the condensed milk in a pot, being careful not to burn. Pour the warmed milk over the dry ingredients.

With a wooden spoon or spatula mix and fold to evenly coat and incorporate all ingredients.

Press into baking pan.  The mixture is very sticky, so either wet your hands with cold water or use an off set spatula to evenly press mixture into pan. Bake for 1 hour.

Let cool for at least 15 minutes, cut 4 across and 4 down for 16 bars.

Bars are still sticky after cutting and removing from pan. The taste is good. I am sure that toasting the nuts, vanilla and cinnamon helped. Not too sweet. Really filling and substantial.

NOTES FOR NEXT TIME:

  • I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the condensed milk while warming. I think a little more would add a little extra flavor.
  • I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the mixture. Again, a little more would give it that warmth only cinnamon can bring.
  • Make sure the bars are completely cooled or they are seriously difficult to cut.
4 Responses

  1. Yum…they look great!

  2. They look delicious! I love breakfast bars as a daytime snack – I think I’ll try to make these. Thanks, Annie!

  3. Oh another great recipe that I will be hanging on to and hope to use! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

