Country French Omelet

The recipe for the French Country Omelet is from  Ina Garten’s Back to Basics cookbook.

I was looking for something simple, homey and would not heat up my kitchen too  much – and I get to use my grandmother’s cast iron skillet. I love being able to use her things. In a silly way it reminds me of being in the kitchen with her.

I had spied this recipe while participating in a cook-along on one of my favorite food boards – Contessa’s Kitchen and thought I would give it a try on a hot summer night when I was cooking for just myself. I knew I had all the other ingredients at home, so I bought some beautiful slab bacon at Whole Foods. Arrived home, opened the book, and realized – not so cool! It has to bake in the oven for 8 minutes!

Now this is one of my worst habits – I inherited it from my mother – I see a recipe. Glance through the ingredients, and don’t read the directions all the way through. Hopefully this writing experiment will break me of this habit.

I love slab bacon. I hope I have more recipes that use slab bacon. There is nothing better than the smell of bacon cooking!

bacon

While the bacon is browning and crisping in the cast iron skillet, I cube the potatoes. Once the bacon is removed from the pan I realize that these wonderful yukon gold potatoes are going to cook in the bacon fat. Yummy! Into the pan they go with a little salt and pepper.

Potatoes

Crack some eggs, mix in milk, salt and pepper, whisk away. SInce I also didn’t see the word chives in the ingredient I add some fresh tarragon instead. Remove the potatoes from the pan, add to a bowl holding the bacon I have already cooked and am desperately trying not to nibble on.   Empty the bacon grease from the pan.

A tablespoon of butter sizzles in the pan, in go the eggs, the potatoes and bacon – don’t eat it, don’t eat it, don’t  eat it – get sprinkled on top, and into the oven we go!

butter

Timer goes off, eight minutes are up, open the oven door and there is this HUGE, fluffy omlet staring back at me! I cannot imagine, looking at this omlet, that only two people are to eat this!

Omlet

 But it looks yummy!

I cut it in four and, yes, I can now imagine that 2 people can eat this. It deflates a bit once out of the oven. I ate half, and wrapped up the other half for breakfast t his morning.

Cut omlet

This was terrific and simple – and very basic. It is a quick I-don’t-want-to-cook-alot meal. It does, however, need something. Some heat. Some onion – maybe leeks – sauteed after the bacon, but before the potatoes. Maybe some sharp cheddar cheese.

That will be for next time!

Leave a Reply

