Stuffed Tomatoes

I love Giada de Laurentiis. I love her simplicity, the freshness of flavors, and that out of every cookbook I have dozens of things I want to make. Her recipes don’t take a lot of tweaking and don’t contain ridiculous ingredients that the home cook would not normally have in their pantry.

This recipe, Stuffed Tomatoes, from Everyday Italian, is so great and so easy that it just had to be a side to a wonderful pork shoulder recipe.

img_04741I had this recipe in the back of my mind when I went to the supermarket and saw beautiful tomatoes. It’s hard this time of year to find tomatoes worth buying, but these looked wonderful, and I thought this recipe would be perfect.

 

This recipe comes together very quickly, there are no unusual ingredients, aside from the aborio. BTW, if you don’t have aborio, you can easily use orzo, just make sure you don’t over cook it.

I usually add a little breadcrumbs to the top before I put the little tops back on.

img_04782

One of my favorite parts is the leftover stuffing. I scatter it on the bottom of the baking dish and it come out crisp and crunchy – definitely a cook’s treat!!

This is a great side dish!!

Leave a Reply

