Steamed Clams & Tomatoes

STeamed Clams & Tomatoes

I have been in the car for a lifetime. Okay, not quite a litetime, perhaps it was just a month. Okay, fine, not a month. SIGH! It had to be a week. Really. Those 6 1/2 hours in the car battling Friday traffic to the Cape seemed to have lasted at least a week!

I am TIRED!

My tushy is SORE!

I am CRANKY!

I am STARVING! Yes, I know, when am I ever NOT starving.

A quick stop at the supermarket and then I can stretch (unpack the car), have a glass of wine (put the groceries away), and do what helps me unwind best (we’re hungry, what is there to eat) … COOK!

But it’s late and the sun is setting. I really want to sit with my love and watch the sun set over the bay and don’t necessarily want to be tied to the stove (an electric one to boot … oh, the horror), so whatever it is it has to be quick … but it still has to be GOOD!

Oh, Everyday Food, you have saved me yet again. While I miss the printed magazine terribly – oh, please bring it back – the online version will suffice (a little) and brought me this fabulous, quick and easy recipe.

To make this a little more substantial, I put it over linguine. But for a really light supper, just bread and a salad would do the trick!

  • 2 T olive oil, plus more for serving
  • 6 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 t hot pepper flakes
  • 3/4 t dried oregano or 2 teaspoons fresh
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved (2 cups)
  • 4 pounds clams, scrubbed and rinsed
  • small handful of flat leaf parsley, finely chopped

NOTE: I used Little Neck clams.

Ingredients

In a large pot heat oil over medium-high, add garlic, hot pepper flakes, and oregano. Cook until fragrant, 1 minute.

Add tomatoes

Add tomatoes, increase heat to high, and cook until the tomatoes burst, about 4 minutes.

NOTE: They don’t really burst, they’re already cut in half. But the skins start to pucker and the tomato halves start to break down a little.

Add clams

Add clams and 3/4 cup water, cover, and cook until clams open, stirring once, 8 to 10 minutes. Discard any unopened clams.

Drizzle with oil and sprinkle chopped parsley on top to serve.

NOTE: I sliced some Italian bread, brushed it with olive oil, a sprinkle of salt, and put them into the oven as I dumped the clams into the pot. Perfect to sop up all the delicious liquid in the bowl.

5 Responses

  1. Looks soooo good!

  2. This looks worth a long drive to me. Love this one!

  3. I love this recipe. I never thought of adding tomatoes to clams. I love this.

  4. Oh Boy! This really looks so delish! I loved the look of your steamed clam dish….oozing with flavours, I must say! I never tried clams in this way!

  5. Thanks for joining Andrea, hope to see you there often. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers