Chicken Teriyaki

There are only so many ways you can cook chicken before you start to resent Frank Perdue, and Murray, and that lovely couple Bell & Evans.

This wonderful recipe comes from Nigella Lawson’s Kitchen. Some really wonderful recipes in this book. This recipe may actually make my poultry resentment fade away.

The recipe is quick and flavorful, and different enough t make things interesting.  If you’re worried about the high sodium content, use low sodium soy sauce.

  • 2 T sake
  • 1/4 C mirin
  • 1/4 C soy sauce
  • 2 T light brown sugar
  • 2 t grated fresh ginger
  • Splash sesame oil
  • 1 3/4 pounds chicken thigh fillets (no skin or bones), cut or scissored into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 t peanut oil
NOTE: Don’t buy sake just for this recipe. You can use vermouth or white wine as a substitute.

Combine the sake, mirin, soy sauce, sugar, ginger and sesame oil in a dish that you can marinate the chicken in.

Add the prepared chicken pieces and let marinate 15 minutes.

Heat the peanut oil in a large shallow frying pan or casserole (that has a lid) over medium heat. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the chicken pieces from the marinade to the pan. Saute them until they look cooked on the outside.

Add the marinade to the chicken pieces and bring to a bubble, turn down the heat to a gentle simmer, put the lid on and cook for about 5 minutes.

Remove the cooked chicken pieces with a slotted spoon (you could keep them in a bowl covered in aluminum foil to keep them warm) and turn the heat up under the pan to let the liquid boil down to a thick dark syrup.

Return the chicken pieces to the pan, stir well so that all the chicken pieces are coated in the sticky savory syrup. Serve with a comforting pile of sushi rice or rice sticks, perhaps some steamed baby bok choy or other veggies of your choice.

NOTE: In the cookbook, Nigella made this with Sushi rice. On the series that went with, she made it with rice sticks. I found them in Trader Joe’s, but a lot of Asian sections in the supermarket have them as well.

12 Responses

  1. Ive just been watching Kitchen re runs on the TV. I haven’t seen Nigella cook this yet but it looks great. GG

  2. This looks marvelous, Annie!!! Nigella rarely disappoints! Hope you’re having an excellent weekend, my friend~

  3. Haven’t had teriyaki in a while but this sure makes me want to go make some :-)

  4. Your intro made me laugh. I haven’t cooked chicken this way. I’ve certainly had this dish, just never made it. Thanks for reminding me of a good one.

  5. Love this Nigella recipe… I have that book. Yours looks delicious.

  6. I love Nigella, so I know this will be delicious.

  7. I sooo love your pics and the recipes

  8. oh the shot of you brushing the sauce on the chicken makes my mouth water. That is my favorite part about teriyaki sauce- sometimes I go overboard on the sauce though bc i like it so much:) thanks for visiting my site- so glad to have you and to be introduced to yours.

  9. I am going to make something similar. This sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers