Gloomy Summer Day Pasta

We weren’t really far enough into the summer for a plethora of vegetables ~ and certainly not yet in my garden!

It was too gloomy and iffy out to grill.

It was too humid for cooking inside.

I am not a really big fan of take-out and I am far too lazy to go out to eat on a Sunday.

Now what?

I walked away, sat at the computer and start going through emails from the blogs I follow, searching for inspiration.

There it was! My friend over at Nuts About Food, after a recent weekend in the Alps, was inspired to make pasta with ricotta and sun-tomatoes, after stopping at a farm to buy cheeses and butter and salami (sounds like my kinda weekend!).

Her inspiration became my inspiration ~ and I had been dying to make ricotta again. She had used just ricotta and chopped sun-dried tomatoes. I, of course, had to add more and ended up with Gemelli with Fresh Ricotta, SunDried Tomatoes, Toasted Walnuts & Basil. Thank you for the inspiration and making my Sunday delicious!

There really aren’t exact measurements. It’s to your taste.

I made a pound of gemelli – needed to have some left over for lunches this week. Chopped up some sun-dried tomatoes that were in olive oil, probably had almost a cup of them chopped. Toasted chopped walnuts, about 1/2 a cup. Tore some basil, about 1/3 cup packed (that I snipped in my garden). A good cup of ricotta and about 1/4 C of grated Parmigiano.

Cook the pasta and drain – reserving about 1 1/2 cups of the water first. Add in everything else. Add some of the pasta water and stir – remember you can always add more in, you can’t take it out! Some freshly ground pepper and you are ready to go. Oh, wait – I can’t help myself – I drizzled some of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes over the top.

Now, people in my house like my cooking. I usually get a compliment. Some better than others. This dish got me a WOW! That’s good. From people whose favorite compliments are ‘fine’ WOW is a big deal! (If you listen careful that nashing sound you hear is my teeth. I hate being told my cooking is fine. It bugs me to even type it! Fine? Really?)

10 Responses

  1. Looks like a great pasta salad. :)

  2. Sounds like my kind of weekend too! This looks great. Boy what I wouldn’t give for a gloomy day.

  3. You’re hysterical!! This one definitely looks delicious and a keeper. Will try it this week.

  4. Looks delicious! A nice easy summer pasta!

  5. Thanks for the mention, I am honored and glad I inspired you! Great idea adding the walnuts; I was thinking of adding toasted pine nuts as I mentioned in my post, but after a long drive back I didn’t want to argue for the whole meal with children who have texture issues! Just didn’t have the energy.

  6. Don’t you just love getting inspired from something that catches your eye and then create such a yummy dish?? !! I actually love those rare gloomy days in Florida as I know I can stay in my kitchen all day and not feel guilty about not being outdoors!!

  7. This looks so dreamy. I have not tried making my own ricotta…I am so impressed.

  8. This pasta looks really delicious. A great pick me up during a dreary summer day.

  9. Im always looking for “wow” dishes to impress the hubbs. I can see why it got that reaction though, what yummy ingredients.
    *kisses* HH

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers