Balsamic Vinaigrette

Saturday was food shopping day. Every Saturday is food shopping day. Two hungry boys and a husband, I am amazed I can actually make it from Saturday to Saturday without shopping again for anything more than milk.

I am, much to my husband’s chagrin, one of those shoppers that needs to go up and down every aisle, even though I have a list that I TRY to strictly stick to – never successful at that one, I can assure you.

I am always amazed at the salad dressing section. I can understand purchasing – okay, forget I said that. I cannot understand buying salad dressing. It is so easy to make and so much less expensive and so much better for you than ‘junk in a jar’.

The dressings in a bottle that perplex me the most are Balsamic Vinaigrette and Italian dressing.  The Italian dressing is simply oil, vinegar and dried herbs.

Balsamic Vinaigrette is slightly different, but just as simple. Once you try this, you will never buy bottled vinaigrette again.

  • 3 T balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 t Dijon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3/4 C olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper , to taste

Let me start by saying the recipe for this usually calls for taking out the blender of food processor. I have an old Grey Poupon jar – you know the large kind that you get Costco or Sam’s Club. I use this to mix up my dressings and marinades. It weighs less, is easier to clean, and emulsifies just as well as the blender.

Mince the garlic or use a microplane hand zester. I use the zester. For me, it’s faster and more fine than I could ever hope to mince it.

If you are using the blender or food processor , combine the balsamic and red wine vinegars, mustard and garlic in a blender. With the machine running, gradually add the olive oil through the opening in the lid to process into a thick dressing. Season with salt and pepper.
 
If you are using the jar method – pour the vinegars, mustard, garlic, s&p, and oil into the jar. Cover. Shake!
The dressing will last about 1 week, store in a covered container in the refrigerator. Stir well before using. Again, mine stays in the jar, in the fridge, and a quick shake has you ready to go.
Tonight I steamed green beans, topped them with some chopped tomatoes and chopped red onion, poured the vinaigrette on top.Simple. Healthy. Quick. Perfect side dish.
22 Responses

  1. I agree totally with you on purchased dressing!! I use the jar method. Simple and easy! In fact, your recipe is exactly my favorite! Your photo caught my attention – what a great idea on the green beans!

  2. I need a salad/side dish for our neighbors’ Memorial Day/Race Day party…and yours has just entered the running. YUM!

    I don’t think I’ve ever found a jarred salad dressing that’s as good as something I could make. A vinaigrette is my preferred dressing…and yours looks perfect!

  3. I’m guilty of buying jars of dressing. If it helps at all, I buy (mostly) organic dressing, but I’m guilty. Guilty, guilty, guilty. I do make my own vinaigrette, but I buy Cesar, ranch, blue cheese and cole slaw dressing . I like this recipe, and I love the pictures.

    • Cole Slaw dressing is so easy! Stay tuned. I am going to post that shortly. I make it out of my head so I have to write the proportions down!

  4. I love how you called it junk in a jar!!! Exactly! I haven’t purchased a salad dressing in years, well… with the exception of Trader Joe’s Cilantro, I do love that one and haven’t been able to replicate it. Balsamic is one of my go to vinegars and this one looks like a hit!

  5. Kudos to you for shopping for four ppeople and an entire week just once! I don’t come anywhere near close to that.. Although I have to admit that we eat so many vegetables that I load my smallish fridge to full capacity every Saturday anyway, and by Wednesday I need to buy more..

    • Okay, I TRY to do it just once a week. Milk is always a necessity as are veggies and fruit. But the bulk of the shopping is done. I try to stop at farmer’s markets when I can for produce. Once Frick and Frack are away working for the summer, shopping becomes a whole new ballgame for my husband and I!! Can’t wait … though I will miss them, my food bill will not!

  6. This lots delcicious! The only dressing I buy is Marie’s brand Blue Cheese, everything else i also make fresh.

  7. This sounds so easy and so delicious. Nothing beats fresh, huh? Oh, and your salsa down there – helllo!! Love it with the fresh made chips too!

  8. Wow, I love your blog! You make everything seem so simple and easy to make, I can’t wait to try making balsamic vinaigrette for the first time!

  9. OMG. You have pink flatware. PINK! I should have known. LOL. So easy to make a fresh dressing, n’est pas? I think I will mix up your recipe to use for tomorrow night.

    Becky

    • Okay, French may have to be next, Becky! Yes, pink. Ernie and I got them when Bridge Kitchenware was moving. You remember the story with the guy throwing pot lids at us out the window!

  10. Love your green bean platter, Annie! I need to try this vinaingrette ASAP – I’ve never mixed balsamic and red wine vinegar in the same dressing.

  11. This looks so yummy!

  12. Homemade dressing just ups the fresh factor of a great salad! Your vinaigrette looks so simple and perfect the tomatoe salad I am going to whip up tonight!

  13. Looks wonderful. I love homemade dressing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers