Zebra Cake

Still totally loving Cake Keeper Cakes. Every recipe a winner. There was no picture of this cake in the book so I was a little hesitant at first. How could this possibly look like a zebra? What if it doesn’t? What if it just blends together?

And so what if it does? It will still be a cake. It will still be good. It will be a tie dyed cake instead of a zebra, but really, who cares. This blog has taught me to celebrate the mistakes – and those of you who follow me with any regularity know – I am not hesitant to share them. I think it’s important to share our flops. I am not sure about everyone else’s kitchen but not everything that comes out of mine is perfect. When it isn’t perfect, I want to know why. I depend on my blogging friends to help me untangle whatever went wrong – with the exception of rolling out anything – TOOOOOOO SCARY!

I am very pleased to say – that even without a photo in Lauren Chattman’s book – this cake was simple and BEEEE-U-TIFUL!

  • 2 C unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 C milk – whole or 2%
  • 1/2 C vegetable oil
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 2 T unsweetened Dutch process cocoa powder

 

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 9-inch round cake pan with a circle of parchment paper and lightly grease the bottom and sides of the pan.

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until mixture is light and creamy and the sugar has mostly been dissolved, about 5 minutes with an electric mixer. Mixing on low, stir in milk, butter, vegetable oil, and vanilla, scraping down sides of bowl occasionally.

NOTE: I had a little trouble with one of the cakes from this book. The trouble was sever overflow. I think the problem was not using a handheld electric mixer, but using my beautiful pink Kitchen-Aid instead. I think the Kitchen-Aid over beat my batter.

Stir dry ingredients into wet, 1/2 C at a time.

Transfer 1/3 of the batter into a bowl, add cocoa powder and whisk to combine.

NOTE: I used the bowl I had combined the dry ingredients in. How many bowls can you use for one cake?

Place 1/4 C of vanilla batter into the center of the pan and let it spread slightly on its own. Place 2 T of chocolate batter in the center of the vanilla. It will push out the other batter and, as it sits for a moment, will also spread itself. Alternate two batters, repeating the technique until all the batter has been used up.

NOTE: Here come the scoops again. I have a large scoop that I use for cupcakes. I used a 1/4 C measure and filled it with water, poured it into my large scoop and it fit! I did the same with a 2 T measure. This made the process of striping so much easier!

Bake for about 40 minutes, until the cake is light gold and a tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Run a knife around the edge of the pan to loosen, invert the cake, remove the parchment paper. Reinvert on to a wire rack and let cool completely before slicing.

NOTE: LOOK! STRIPES!!! And it isn’t really chocolatey at all. Not overly sweet. Very, very tender. I may make a chocolate glaze for the next time.

5 Responses

  1. Your cake looks wonderful!

  2. WOW!!! I’ve always wanted to make this impressive cake…and you’ve made it look possible. Thanks your step by step instructions and photos! Lovely cake~

    (of course, my kids would want me to ruin it with chocolate frosting!)

    • Thanks, Lizzy! It was really easier than expected. A dribbley chocolate glaze might be nice. I think that’s what I am aiming for next time or as something to pass around at the table.

  3. Can’t wait to try this one and with the step by step directions make it that much easier.
    Looking forward to try this one over next weekend
    Thanks so much! What a nice looking cake

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers