Graham Cracker Chocolate Chip Snacking Cake

I’m not quite sure what it is about being stuck inside on cold, snowy, icy, wintry days that make me want to bake. Perhaps, sheer boredom. Perhaps, having to share a TV and knowing that THEY don’t watch anything I do! Perhaps, the kitchen is the only place I am not followed. Following me in the kitchen always involves my barking orders oops! – asking for help emptying the dishwasher, passing a Swiffer over the floor, putting away things left out when hastily grabbing a snack.

Well, snow storm number 6 had me jonesing for cake! I need a cake. I don’t want to bundle up with 7,000 layers and trudge – and trust me, in Brooklyn, with the amount of snow we have still on the ground and in 10 foot piles on every corner, TRUDGE is all we do! – to the market to but a cake.

I grabbed Lauren Chattman’s Cake Keeper Cakes to find something simple and quick to bake. I know I only recently baked a disaster from this book, but I have so many earmarked and they can’t possibly ALL be bad. By the way, Lauren Chattman NEVER responded to my email asking about the cake. Very bad form!

I love graham crackers and chocolate together. The Marshmallow Fluff just put it over the top for me! And to make things better, I had all the ingredients I needed!

FOR THE CAKE

  • 8 whole graham crackers, finely ground (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 C unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 6 T unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 C milk
  • 1/2 C semisweet chocolate chips

FOR THE FROSTING

  • 1/2 C unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 C confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C Marshmallow Fluff

Preheat oven to 350

Butter an 8×8 square baking pan and dust with flour, shaking out any excess.

Mix the graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.

Combine the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and cream with an electric mixer for about 3 minutes on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides as you go. With the mixer on low, add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla. Scrape down the side, in necessary, and beat until smooth.

With the mixer on low speed, add 1/3 of the flour mixer, then 1/2 the milk, stirring until combined. Repeat with remaining flour and milk, ending with the flour mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Scrape the batter into the baking pan and smooth out the top. Bake for about 35 minutes and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cake cool in the pan for about 10 minutes. Invert onto a wire rack, turn right side up, and let cool completely.

FROSTING

Beat butter in a medium bowl until creamy. WIth mixer running, add sugar. Stir in vanilla and Marshmallow Fluff and beat well. Use immediately or store in bowl covered with plastic wrap in the fridge.

NOTE: RESIST THE TEMPTATION TO EAT THE FLUFF BY THE SPOONFUL. Put away the bread and the peanut butter. Step away from the counter.

Cut cake into squares and serve with a dollop of frosting.

NOTE: Tha cake is very nice. The graham crackers give it an interesting texture and very homespun, old fashioned flavor. Very comforting. The frosting is SERIOUSLY sweet! Perhaps a little too sweet. Fortunately the cake isn’t frosted until you eat it so we did without the frosting after the first round and drizzled chocolate syrup on top with a little dollop of FLUFF.

One Response

  1. I can’t believe this is made primarily from graham crackers. They must give this cake a really great flavor. I have a sweet treat linky party on my blog every weekend called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to come by then and link your cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers